Iron Rich Foods for Increased Absorption

I was born with a condition called anemia.

It is a condition in which your blood has a lower than normal number of red blood cells.

In addition to taking iron supplements I also have to be careful with my diet and recently researched some foods that are beneficial to my health. I am a partial vegetarian in that I only eat chicken, turkey, and fish so getting the right amount of iron in my diet can be a difficult task.

Here is the list I have for foods rich in iron:

Meats

– Clams

– Oysters

– Duck

– Lamb

– Beef (I currently do not eat any cow by-products)

Breakfast items

– Fortified Instant Oatmeal

Fruits & Veggies

– Soybeans

– Lechtils

– White beans

– Spinach

– Kidney Beans

– Chick Peas

– Prune Juice

– Cow Peas

– Tomato Paste/Sauce

– Limas

– Navy Beans

– Refried Beans

More information on anemia:

Anemia Causes, Types, Symptoms, Diet, and Treatment

Living with Anemia

Leave a comment